Independent Advisory Committee

ArtPride acknowledges the existence of systemic inequity within New Jersey’s arts and cultural community. We will work to promote healing from the damage done by systemic racism through increased public awareness of the value and impact of the arts; grassroots advocacy; and engaging historically excluded artists and arts organizations in all our efforts. Because of our own history as a predominantly white-led organization, ArtPride commits to transforming our organization to better reflect the diversity of our state’s residents. 

ArtPride seeks equitable access to the arts for all and believes that creating, sharing, and experiencing art is crucial to the well-being of individuals, communities, and a functioning democracy. ArtPride commits to listening to, learning from, and collaborating with arts organizations, creative workers, artists, trustees, volunteers, and patrons in order to help shape a fairer and more just New Jersey. 

Independent Advisory Committee is tasked with elevating historically excluded artists and arts organizations along with the voices of ArtPride members, stakeholders, and individuals. We're seeking individuals historically excluded and oppressed, specifically, those who self-identify as Black, LatinX, Asian Pacific Islander, Indigenous, and/or a Person of Color, LGBTQ+, or a Person with a Disability to:

  • Help ArtPride build relationships with historically excluded artists and arts organizations.
  • Advocate for members’ needs and the needs of the New Jersey arts community.
  • Provide accountability for staff & board on organizational goals, resources, and messaging.
  • Develop a pipeline for future ArtPride board and staff, as well as the New Jersey arts field.

Please review our committee expectation document prior to applying.

For more information contact Vincent Hall, Advocacy & Community Engagement Manager, for more information or questions.

Independent Advisory Committee Members

Co-Chair, Rachel Aponte
Co-Chair, Deonté Griffin Quick
Co-Chair, Susan Justiniano
Fallon Davis
Jennifer Dominquez
Vincent Hall
Janice Marshall
Paul McRae
Diane Parker
Carmen Santos-Robson
Ameerah Shabazz
Ericka Streeter
Anita Thomas
Justin Wynn